October 21, 2018, 20:52

Hampshire and Glamorgan arenas to host new T20 franchise competition

Hampshire and Glamorgan arenas to host new T20 franchise competition

The Ageas Bowl and the SWALEC Stadium have been included on the list of venues for the ECB’s new Twenty20 franchise competition.

Edgbaston, Headingley, The Oval, Lord’s, Old Trafford and Trent Bridge will also host matches that will take place from 2020, live on Sky Sports.

The governing body revealed the news on Wednesday, having approved the key venues for all the major domestic and international matches over a five-year period from 2020, subject to contract.

After the approval of the recommendations from an independent Host Venue Panel, led by ECB deputy chairman Ian Lovett, a statement said: “They provide a strong geographical spread, high capacity for attendance, quality experience and access for the widest audience.”

The ECB revealed their plans for the new domestic Twenty20 competition in March 2017.

Eight teams will feature – all owned by the ECB – and will face off in an IPL play-off style system.

It is planned that each team will have a squad of 15 players, including a maximum of three overseas players, under the guidance of a general manager, with every side given a central pot to spend on players and a coaching staff.

Of those 15-man squads, 13 will be selected by draft with an additional two wildcard picks and counties will not be required to pay their players’ salaries while they are playing in the new competition.

Sky Sports agreed a new five-year partnership with the ECB in July that includes every match from the new T20 competition, plus live rights to international and county cricket from 2020.

Sourse: skysports.com

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

14 + fourteen =