October 19, 2018, 10:18

Headingley on 2023 Ashes Test venue list as Ageas Bowl misses out

Headingley on 2023 Ashes Test venue list as Ageas Bowl misses out

Yorkshire’s Headingley has been chosen as one of the five venues for the Ashes Tests in 2023.

Hampshire’s Ageas Bowl has been once again overlooked as a site for the series, while Edgbaston, The Oval, Lord’s and Old Trafford have been allocated to host the remaining matches against Australia.

The ground near to Southampton has only previously staged two Tests – against Sri Lanka in 2011 and India in 2014 – and missed out on selection for the 2019 series between England and Australia.

Hampshire were widely expected to be named as one of the five hosts to welcome Australia in five years’ time but join Glamorgan’s SWALEC Stadium and Nottinghamshire’s Trent Bridge as the conspicuous absentees.

The ECB’s decision means the five Ashes venues for 2023 will be the same ones that are used in 2019.

Nottinghamshire’s Trent Bridge will host Test matches in 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2024 but will not stage an Ashes Test in either of the next two series.

NSW vs South Australia

February 16, 2018, 5:30am

Live on

Get Sky Sports Get a Sky Sports pass

The Nottingham ground will, however, take over from Lord’s as the venue for the domestic One-Day Cup final from 2020, the ECB has confirmed.

Gloucestershire, Durham, Glamorgan and Hampshire will all host England one-day internationals at their grounds throughout the five-year period, with the latter two also set to stage T20 internationals.

Sourse: skysports.com

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

7 + fourteen =