December 14, 2018, 1:54

Sky Sports signs new multi-year Indian Premier League deal

Sky Sports signs new multi-year Indian Premier League deal

Watch some of the best moments from IPL 10, including Mumbai Indians' thrilling title triumph

Sky Sports has signed a new multi-year deal to broadcast the Indian Premier League.

Under the deal, Sky Sports will broadcast 60 live IPL matches each year in the UK and Ireland starting with the 2018 tournament, which begins on April 7. It also includes digital rights.

Click on the video above to see some of the best action from IPL 10, which concluded with Mumbai Indians beating Rising Pune Supergiant by just one run to become champions.

Last season all eight franchises had an England international in their ranks and this year England Test captain Joe Root was one of 24 English players to enter the auction.

“I really believe playing a block of Twenty20 cricket with that scrutiny, being under pressure for long periods of time against the world’s best players in that format, would be a great opportunity to develop my white-ball game,” said Root.

“You almost have to look at it as more of an investment for my game and for all the England team.”

Highlights from 2017 included Jos Buttler’s brilliant 77 from 37 balls for Mumbai Indians and a series of blistering displays from Ben Stokes for Supergiant that earned him the MVP award, justifying his £1.7m price tag – a record fee for an overseas player.

The tournament also featured an Andrew Tye hat-trick, the fastest fifty in IPL history – courtesy of Sunil Narine – and a brilliant KKR bowling effort that saw RCB dismissed for an IPL record low total of 49.


Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

15 + eleven =